Google+ Followers

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

No One Ever Asked by Kate Ganshert




Kate Ganshert's No One Ever Asked tells the story of three families and two school districts have on one another. Through a series of events over the course of a school year, it is revealed that we are all more alike then we want to admit. I liked the characters and I have to say that Ms. Ganshert writes some of the best hooks of any author I read. So grab your cup of tea and settle in for a satisfying read.

I was given a copy of this book by the publisher for review purposes. All thoughts are my own.

From Amazon:
Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district--and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray--the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser--faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones--the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge's top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she's stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as "this" or "that", when such complexity exists in each person?

About the author: 
KATIE GANSHERT is the author of seven novels and several works of short fiction. She has won both the Christy and Carol Awards for her writing and awarded the RT Reviews Reviewers Choice for her novel, The Art of Losing Yourself.Katie Ganshert was born and raised in the exciting state of Iowa, where she currently resides with her family. She likes to write things and consume large quantities of coffee and chocolate while she writes all the things. She's won some awards. For the writing, not the consuming. Although the latter would be fun.