Google+ Followers

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Daughter Of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky



I loved Carrie Turansky's Daughter Of Highland Hall. Set in Edwardian England,it is the story of Miss Katherine Ramsey's Debut to society.With her Aunt as sponsor, she will begin by being presented at court and then join the  social gatherings with all the cream of society, hopefully ending the season with the prize, a proposal of marriage to one who will someday have a title and wealth.
Jon Foster is the son of a medical missionary. He has plans to finish his medical training and return to India to take the place of his father. Jon's sister is engaged to Katherine's guardian, William Ramsey. When Jon finds himself temporarily homeless, he joins the Ramsey's household.
The Daughter Of Highland Hall will take you from the halls of Buckingham Palace to the streets of London's lower East End. I found the characters to be delightful and the story line thoroughly enjoyable. Fans of Upstairs Downstairs and Downtown Abbey will surely love this book. I found myself reading slowly , enjoying each page, not wanting the story to end. I am delighted to see that there will be a third book, A Refuge at Highland Hall due out October 2015.
I was given this book by the author in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required to give a favorable review and was not compensated for my review.

Friday, September 12, 2014

The Secrets Of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen





Lois Leveen's novel The Secret's Of Mary Bowser sheds light on a little known area of history. Based on the true story of Mary Bowser, a freed slave who voluntarily returned to the south to spy for Abraham Lincoln. She was a brilliant woman who could remember everything she heard or read.  Although not much is known about Mary Bowser,  Leveen has written an informative and captivating book.I enjoyed reading Mary's story.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014



A Bride In Store by Melissa Jagears is a delightful story with both humor and drama running neck and neck throughout the story. Eliza Cantrell has left her controlling fiance and lazy brother in order to live her dream of owning a store. The fact that she must be a mail order bride is a minor factor. Leaving a week early, her train is robbed and she is left penniless and scarred.And the final straw...her intended groom is missing, leaving her to run his store with the assistance of the kindest man she has ever met.
Melissa Jagears has written an entertaining story that manages to ask some hard questions...what will you sacrifice for your dreams, both Eliza and Will Stanton, her fiances partner have worthy dreams, but must learn to ask G-d for His will not theirs. This is the second book I have read by Melissa Jagears, and I look forward to reading more of her tales.
I was given this book by the author in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required to give a favorable review.