Google+ Followers

Monday, July 10, 2017

The Girl Who Could See by Kara Swanson plus giveaway


Okay, I gave it a good try and read about 50% of this book. While it is well written, it is not a genre I care to read. If you like Dystopian then this is probably the book for you. I personally was unable to connect with the characters. I wish Miss Swanson well in her future writings and would definitely give her another try in a different genre.

I was given this book by Celebrate Lit for review purposes. All thoughts are my own.


Click here to purchase.

About the Book

The girl who could see
Book title: The Girl Who could See
Author: Kara Swanson
Release date: June 1, 2017
Genre: Science Fiction/Urban Fantasy/Young Adult
All her life Fern has been told she is blind to reality—but, what if she is the only one who can truly see?
Fern Johnson is crazy. At least, that’s what the doctors have claimed since her childhood. Now nineteen, and one step away from a psych ward, Fern struggles to survive in bustling Los Angeles. Desperate to appear normal, she represses the young man flickering at the edge of her awareness—a blond warrior only she can see.
Tristan was Fern’s childhood imaginary hero, saving her from monsters under her bed and outside her walls. As she grew up and his secret world continued to bleed into hers, however, it only caused catastrophe. But, when the city is rocked by the unexplainable, Fern is forced to consider the possibility that this young man is not a hallucination after al—and that the creature who decimated his world may be coming for hers.

About the Author

karaAs the daughter of missionaries, KARA SWANSON spent sixteen years of her young life in the jungles of Papua New Guinea. Able to relate with characters dropped suddenly into a unique new world, she quickly fell in love with the speculative genre and was soon penning stories herself. At seventeen, she independently published her debut fantasy novel, Pearl of Merlydia. Her short story is included in Kathy Ide’s 21 Days of Joy: Stories that Celebrate Mom. She has published many articles, including one in the Encounter magazine, and she received the Mount Hermon Most Promising Teen Writer award in 2015.

Guest Post from Kara Swanson

Did you have an imaginary friend growing up? I did. And I think most of us probably understood what it was like to use our childhood imaginations to create friends and take us places.

The Girl Who Could See follows Fern Johnson, a young woman who’s imaginary friend, Tristan, first appeared in her life when she was eight years old—and has never left. Now nineteen, Fern still sees Tristan, only he is no longer her friend. Now he is her curse. The source of her insanity. The reason Fern cannot keep a job and has been passed from one psychologist to another. The reason she is one step away from a psych ward. However, Tristan disagrees. He says that he’s not a figment of Fern’s imagination and is determined to prove it. But, if his existence is real, it has dangerous implications not only for Fern, but for her world. Because the creature that decimated Tristan’s planet is coming for Earth—and only the girl everyone says is crazy can stop it.

I wrote the novella as a way to explore the idea of what would happen if someone had an imaginary friend who never left. What would the psychological and daily implications be? And what if that imaginary friend wasn’t imaginary? The story that grew from those sparks of ideas became an adventure that I hope you’ll enjoy as much as I did. 🙂

Blog Stops

June 29: Genesis 5020
July 1: remembrancy
July 4: Book by Book
July 6: Baker Kella
July 7: Pause for Tales
July 8: Pursuing Stacie
July 9: A path of joy
July 10: Henry Happens

Giveaway

e5f4939d-cd96-45de-b748-8fb15bc1a0af
To celebrate her tour, Kara is giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card!! Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries! https://promosimple.com/ps/b7f6

Friday, July 7, 2017

Carrie Turansky's cover reveal and giveaway



http://carrieturansky.com/index.php/cover-reveal-giveaway/




Thursday, July 6, 2017

The Captivating Lady Charlotte by Carolyn Miller



Ms. Miller has certainly made a place for herself among Regency writers. She debuted with The Elusive Miss Ellison and then repeated her triumph with The Captivating Lady Charlotte. She writes scenes that make one feel as though they are part of the story. The dialogue is crisp and the settings are stunning. I enjoyed watching the naive, coddled, Lady Charlotte come into her own. The story was full of joys and sorrows with a little suspense wrapped up in a Regency Romance. I can't wait to read whatever delightful story Ms. Miller crafts in her third book, The Dishonorable Miss Delancy. I'm sure it will be worth the wait!


From Amazon:



Her heart is her own--but her hand in marriage is another matter



Lady Charlotte Featherington is destined for great things on the marriage market. After all, as the beautiful daughter of a marquess, she should have her pick of the eligible nobility when she debuts. She, however, has love at the top of her list of marriageable attributes. And her romantic heart falls hard for one particularly dashing, attentive suitor. Sadly for Charlotte, her noble father intends her betrothed to be someone far more dull.



William Hartwell may be a duke, but he knows he was Charlotte's father's pick, not the young lady's own choice. And the captivating Lady Charlotte does not strike him as a woman who will be wooed by his wealth or title. While she has captured his heart, he has no idea how to win hers in return--and the betrayal and scandal his first wife put him through makes it difficult for him to believe that love can ever be trusted. His only hope is that Charlotte's sense of responsibility will win out over her romantic notions.



Can a widowed duke and a romantically inclined lady negotiate a future and discover love beyond duty? Will they be able to find healing and hope from the legacy of grace?



Poignant and charming, this is another beautifully written, clean and wholesome Regency romance from Carolyn Miller in the tradition of Georgette Heyer and Julie Klassen. Fans of The Elusive Miss Ellison will meet compelling new characters--and a few old friends.



About the author:



Biography
Hi, I'm Carolyn Miller, author of 'The Elusive Miss Ellison'.



I live in the beautiful Southern Highlands of New South Wales, Australia.



I'm married, with four gorgeous children, who all love to read (and write!) as I do (except not in the Regency genre - funny, that!).



My favorite authors are classics like Jane Austen (of course!), Georgette Heyer, and Agatha Christie, but I also enjoy contemporary authors like Susan May Warren and Becky Wade.



I try to write stories that are fun and witty, yet also deal with real issues, such as dealing with forgiveness, the nature of really loving versus 'true love', and other challenges we all face at different times.



I hope you enjoy reading my novels. Thanks for stopping by!




I was given this book by the author for review purposes. All thoughts are my own.