Google+ Followers

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Daughter Of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky



I loved Carrie Turansky's Daughter Of Highland Hall. Set in Edwardian England,it is the story of Miss Katherine Ramsey's Debut to society.With her Aunt as sponsor, she will begin by being presented at court and then join the  social gatherings with all the cream of society, hopefully ending the season with the prize, a proposal of marriage to one who will someday have a title and wealth.
Jon Foster is the son of a medical missionary. He has plans to finish his medical training and return to India to take the place of his father. Jon's sister is engaged to Katherine's guardian, William Ramsey. When Jon finds himself temporarily homeless, he joins the Ramsey's household.
The Daughter Of Highland Hall will take you from the halls of Buckingham Palace to the streets of London's lower East End. I found the characters to be delightful and the story line thoroughly enjoyable. Fans of Upstairs Downstairs and Downtown Abbey will surely love this book. I found myself reading slowly , enjoying each page, not wanting the story to end. I am delighted to see that there will be a third book, A Refuge at Highland Hall due out October 2015.
I was given this book by the author in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required to give a favorable review and was not compensated for my review.